Friday Quotes #3: Ultraviolet by R.J. Anderson

Book Beginnings

“Once upon a time there was a girl who was special. Her hair flowed like honey and her eyes were blue as music. She grew up bright and beautiful, with deft fingers, a quick mind, and a charm that impressed everyone she met. Her parents adored her, her teachers praised her, and her schoolmates admired her many talents. Even the oddly shaped birthmark on her upper arm seemed like a sign of some great destiny.

This is not her story.

Unless you count the part where I killed her.”

I received, and read, this book about three years ago, and the beginning had, and still has, pulled me in. I think it’s a very interesting beginning, and it tells a lot about the main character, even if it isn’t much to go on.

The Friday 56

tw: talk of anorexia

“Scowling, she took hold of my hand and turned it over, inspecting my fingers. I knew what she was looking for; I also knew she’d be disappointed. I might be thin and a picky eater, but nothing could convince me to make myself throw up on purpose.”

I’m not sure why, but this does make me love Alison, the main character, more. I don’t mean the way she talks about¬†anorexia. But the way this is written is like she’s going “as if” to the other person in the scene, without actually saying as if, and it makes me enjoy this more.

One thought on “Friday Quotes #3: Ultraviolet by R.J. Anderson

Leave a Reply

