Book Outlet Bookhaul #1

Stacking The Shelves is all about sharing the books you are adding to your shelves, may it be physical or virtual. This means you can include books you buy in physical store or online, books you borrow from friends or the library, review books, gifts and of course ebooks! This meme is hosted by Tynga’s reviews.

So as of April 2015, Book Outlet has officially become my go-to site for low priced, quality books. And I mean read-iculously low prices (they’re quote/moto). I was so so excited to find this site, y’all don’t understand: This is a Canadian bookstore, with low prices, which is so exciting for little Canadian me!

No, I’m not being paid for this, but I did want to share this with you guys, so that all of you could take advantage of the prices just as I did! If you want to check it out, here it is: http://bookoutlet.ca/

So, without further ado, let’s start the haul!

20150508_170824

So, first package contained these two books (I thought I was being smart by separating my first order into three small orders, but I’m pretty sure I just paid more on shipping by doing so. Don’t try to outsmart the system if you don’t understand the system, kids!)

Lux: Beginnings by Jennifer L. Armentrout

Is a book, or rather a series, that I have heard so much about in the booktube community. I have not read the synopsis of this in it’s entirety, but I do know that the main character’s name is Kat –Katherine? Katy?, and she is a book blogger/reviewer herself (which is probably what attracted me to this book the most), and she’s just moved into this new house with her family, and her next door neighbor is an alien with time freezing abilities and whatnot, and he drags Kat into his crazy ass problems. It seemed really interesting, although I’m hoping that it won’t be a cliche romance like you find in a lot of YA books these days, I am really interesting to get into this.

crewel by gennifer albin

Crewel has been a book I’ve been meaning to buy ever since I saw it at Chapter, the cover was gorgeous (it was a different cover from this one, but it’s still very pretty), and the title seemed oddly interesting. The main character, Adelice (how cool is her name though, right?), has the power to control the very fabric of reality, but Adelice doesn’t want to manipulate what people can and cannot do. Adelice uses her power, has to run away so that the Guild won’t use her, and all in all, seems like a pretty interesting read, and not just about romance! Go Gennifer Albin!

20150508_171157

monument 14: sky on fire by emmy laybourne

What I didn’t know when I place the order for this book, was that this is the SECOND BOOK in a trilogy(?), because I hadn’t read the synopsis, or I read it real quick and it didn’t sound as if it was the second book, but that was probably purposeful so not too much would be revealed! So, I am not going to describe what might be in this book, just because I don’t want to re-read the synopsis and possibly get spoiled for the first book that I will eventually buy.

jackaby by william ritter

This is a Historical Fiction read set in 1892 with a heavy weight of supernatural elements!

The story, I believe, centers around Abigail Rooks, the new assistant to R. F. Jackaby, an investigator of the unexplained. Abigail’s first case is centered around a serial killer on the loose, whom Jackaby is certain is not human, while the police force believes that it is. Apparently, this is Doctor Who meets Sherlock, so if you’re into that, you should definitely check it out! I have always loved P.I.s in the time of the past like in those noir movies, so I’m really excited to be reading this!

20150508_171546

sapphire blue and emerald green by kerstin gier

The second and the last book in the Ruby Red trilogy, I’m not going to get into too much detail with these two either since I don’t want to spoil anyone on the first book.

20150511_210424

Goodhouse by peyton marshall

Goodhouse is a science fiction thriller, set in a transformed America at the end of the 21st century. The sons of convicted felons who test positive for a genetic marker are ripped from their homes, and sent to Goodhouse campuses, where they are reformed to get rid of their dark thoughts and impulses. This is not the first time that I have heard of something with a similar plotline, but given the cover, and the fact that this is partly based on a true story, I figure I’d see out it goes! And I am a sucker for anything sci-fi.

the pledge by kimberly derting

This is a book I had read on my ereader a long while back, and considering how much I enjoyed it, decided to finally get myself a physical copy.

This is set in a Dystopian world with a monarchy, and the social classes are all divided by the language they speak. If a member of a lower class looks someone of a higher class in the eyes while they speak their native tongue, they can be executed without trial. Kimberly Derting is an author I have followed ever since I read The Body Finder series. She is an amazing author, and I am so excited to be in possession of this book!

dark inside by jeyn roberts

I had been wanting to buy this book for so long, but was always so distracted by other books that I never had the chance to. And when I saw that there was a sale on sci-fi reads? Wow, did I jump on the chance to get this.

This is an apocalyptic/dystopian read, set in a world where your friends turn into murderous strangers. From what I can gather, I believe that people are turning into Zombies, and this is what Goodreads is telling me as well. The rest of the synopsis doesn’t tell you much more than this, which is what really attracted me to this book in the first place.

saving francesca by melina marchetta

This is a contemporary read, which follows the life of a young girl named Francesca, who hangs out with some of the few girls at this “co-ed” school, and I saw some graphics on this on Tumblr and they made this seem really interesting, so I am super excited to get into this!

And that, ladies and gents, is my fist Book Outlet bookhaul! Do tell me what you think of any of these books! If you’ve read any of these, which were your favorites? What did you like about them? What didn’t you like about them?

Leave a Reply

